The Virunga region is one of the most biodiverse places on planet earth. The region has three national parks protecting a wide range of flora and fauna.

National Parks

  • Volcanoes National park in Rwanda
  • Virunga National Park in Congo
  • Mgahinga National Park


There are 8 volcanoes that are referred to as the Virunga Volcanoes

  • Mount Karisimbi
  • Mount Nyiragongo
  • Mount Sabinyo
  • Mount Gahinga
  • Mount Muhabura
  • Mount Mikeno