Virunga Region

The political boundaries separating the Democratic Republic of Congo, Rwanda and Uganda were established in 1894 at the Conference of Berlin. As is well documented, this ‘scramble for Africa’ largely ignored existing geographical, cultural and ethnic continuities.

Despite current national borders, the Virunga region have a number of similarities. Firstly, the large levels of movement across borders, often driven by conflict, has led to a situation today where ‘similar languages, cultures and traditions are found on all three sides of the borders’.